Days of Fog

I’m currently sitting at my desk surrounded by bags of my stuff. I’m not very good at packing. I bring everything everywhere. It’s only been two and a half weeks since I got back from Thanksgiving vacation, but my mom and my brother are on their way to pick me up for Christmas break.

These two weeks went by quickly. They were busy and somewhat stressful, especially for the seniors who started hearing back from colleges. It was the start of winter term, so I began spending my afternoons in the theater shop getting started on creating the set for the February production of The Wiz. It’s good. I like playing with power tools (just like my mom!). I’ve been erging to get ready for crew in the spring, which has been sort of fun and sort of dreadful, but that’s not exactly unique.

The weather has been insanely warm. Last Sunday, when I went for a run down by the river, it was almost sixty degrees, and I was comfortable in yoga pants and a thin long-sleeve shirt. Even though the colors have fallen from most trees, tall green pines still reflect in the glassy current of the Nashua. The trails around here are beautiful, and there are always people walking their dogs sans-leash, and if you ever need a pick-me-up you know where to find one.

I can’t describe the beauty of this place. It was gorgeous at peak fall foliage, but now that the mountains in the distance are framed only by bare gray trees, it’s surreal. There’s been an unusual amount of fog, and walking across campus in the dim wavering light of the late afternoon, the sight of windows lit up through the mist is breathtaking.

But I am excited to go home. Because sleep. Sleep is a nice thing. (Contrary to what I expected, I actually get more sleep at prep school than I did when I went to public school. I guess all that time not spent driving places has to go somewhere.)

Leave a Reply

