Beckoning Bagels

Last Monday was my first Surprise Holiday. When we were getting dressed in the morning, my roommate spoiled it for me by asking if I was excited for Surprise Holiday. I had gone to bed early the night before and thus didn’t hear our prefect’s announcement–because yeah, the seniors all know beforehand. I was hoping that it’d be Monday because I couldn’t afford to miss a chem class before our test, but throughout the morning, I still wasn’t sure. Even after everyone else was cheering, I only allowed myself to celebrate once a faculty member overhead me saying I thought it might just be a joke and verified that it in fact was not.

An hour later, I hopped on a bus to Cambridge. Now, I have spent a significant portion of my life traveling to and from Cambridge. I danced in The Nutcracker from kindergarten through fifth grade, so that’s six years of weekly rehearsals every fall. In addition to living only 30-40 minutes from the city, this means that I’m no stranger to Harvard Square. Granted, I don’t know it well, but I know it a little. If that makes any sense.

So, with a friend from NYC and a friend from Florida, I poked around in a bunch of little shops and a couple sketchy stairways (an international bookstore, which was cool, and a record store, which was closed and terrifying). We walked along the Charles for a bit, and then I introduced the foreigners to the fabulous thing that is Boloco.* Boloco is one of my favorite restaurants. It’s a burrito place, but it is countless times superior to the extremely overrated Chipotle. It’s like getting stir-fry in a wrap. You can build your own burrito and go wild with your toppings, so it is very vegan-friendly. And the people are friendly. So it’s double friendly. There are smoothies too. It’s great. Earlier in the day, I tried B-good, which was good. But Boloco is #1 in my heart.

It was fun. It wasn’t the best day of my life, but it was a good time, and I enjoyed breathing in some pollution after living in farmland. (But actually?)

This week, despite having Monday off, felt very long. Something big happened on Tuesday: free bagels. There’s a small cafe counter on the ground floor of the academic building, and the dining hall started offering free coffee, tea, and toasted bagels (with or without cream cheese). My goodness. You cannot breathe a single breath without inhaling the amazing scent of carbohydrates. It is amazing. I love bagels.

The great food fun doesn’t end there. This week, Teddie peanut butter arrived in the dining hall! They told me it would never happen. Alas, they were wrong. Please join me in welcoming the newest member of our community. Now if only they could have Teddie at the bagel cafe…

*All fabulous views are my own.

P.S. Mother Nature proved me wrong. We had three days this week that were in the 70s!

P.P.S. I realize this is the second title in a month about bagels… Do I have a problem? Probably. Do I care? Um…

Leave a Reply

